RaeSea Internet Marketing Blog

Pronounced “Ray” “Sea”

TIVO and the Internet – what’s the connection?

I was reading the Mark Cuban article today about him believing the internet is dead and it got me thinking about the effects of Tivo on the web.

Everyday, more and more people are using Tivo or DVR or On Demand to watch television.  That’s pretty much how I watch everything now, so I rarely see any commercials.  I think a lot of us are used to fast forwarding right through them.  Now what does that have to do with surfing the web?

I believe that we will start demanding that we can  surf the same way or we will consider the internet to be outdated.  If I get used to not having to sit through commercials, why would I sit through them on the web just to access a website?  I am going to go to another site and many times I already do that.  I just don’t have the patience for it. 

Everytime I visit a site with a landing page or intro page, I just want to yell at the screen “take me to the main site!” (and many times I do yell).  It’s like sitting through the FBI screen when I watch a DVD.  But, designers don’t have to use that intro page. 

I think it goes back to:

  • What do your customers expect to see on your website?
  • What are they seeing?
  • Are those two answers the same?  If not, you better have a good reason.
August 24, 2007 - Posted by | Business, Internet, Marketing, News, technology, Web Design

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

